1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

XP Pro needed for dual -cores??

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by rik, 25 Feb 2006.

  1. rik

    Associate

    Joined: 20 Aug 2004

    Posts: 24

    Mebbe wrong forum so apologies.
    Do you need XP Pro or 64 to run a dual core chip properly?
    Nowhere seems to state this clearly and I will be spending ££ soon, so any help appreciated
     
  2. Digital Punk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,978

    Location: In a bar, gettin' ******

    Windows 2000 Pro, XP Home or Pro 32bit and XP Pro 64bit can all be used with dual core cpu's.
     
  3. FrankJH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 22,499

    DP is correct - but I personally wouldnt touch "Home" with a barge pole

    XP Pro would be the best, it will be supported for some time to come ( where 2000 isnt) and XP 64 isnt quite there yet, in my opinion anyway - from extensive reading i have done
     
  4. p4radox

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Oct 2004

    Posts: 10,767

    Location: Prague

    Nothing wrong with XP Home. It's fine for pretty much everyone unless you want the extra networking options etc. What aspect of home would you not touch with a bargepole?
     
  5. Corasik

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,002

    Location: West Midlands

    Slipstream the right 10 or so files from an XP pro disk, into XP home, and bobs your uncle, you have Pro anyway.

    XP Home just has a few features 'disabled', primarily to do with network security. XP Home will only work on a single CPU as well, although multi core, CPU's are correctly detected, and function perfectly, as the XP Home license is 'per socket' not per core.

    IE A dual core, Hyperthreading P4D-EE will give 4 virtual cores on XP Home, no problem.

    The only 'problem' with Home, is you cant buy a 64bit XP Home.