1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

your opinion of this memory

Discussion in 'Memory' started by matkeys, 11 May 2010.

  1. matkeys

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Apr 2010

    Posts: 449

    Location: sevenoaks kent

    what's the general opinion of the OCZ reaper HPC edition ram, 2x2gb 1066mhz

    watched some others which were two pairs of 1gb (4gb in total) in 2 separate listings (2x1 in two auctions) went for £29 and £31

    so guessing a 2x2 kit will reach around £65-70


    any info or advice on these will be very helpful
     
    Last edited: 11 May 2010
  2. hawker1986

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,621

    Location: Leicester

    Ive used the 2x2GB 800mhz kit, had 8Gb total, always ran flawlessly for me, good RAM basically. I suspect thats what they will go for these days. Sold one of my 4Gb 800mhz kits for £45, but things have changed since then.

    Hawker
     
  3. matkeys

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Apr 2010

    Posts: 449

    Location: sevenoaks kent

    ok cheers well got w7 to install then ill be ok, whats the ram reqerments for w7 is it 2gb?
     
  4. hawker1986

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,621

    Location: Leicester

    I might be wrong, but I think min is 1GB, im sure google will throw it up for you.

    Hawker
     
  5. matkeys

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Apr 2010

    Posts: 449

    Location: sevenoaks kent

    forgot to post back recommended is 2gb although 4gb is better to run it but ms say 2gb for x64 and 1gb for x86, w7 atturly fails to install with 1gb as it uses 850mb to run, were as the latter take 500mb i think.

    still will just have to wait. will have 8gb in the end with a Q9 or maybe if i sabe a month more a QX9 :)
     
  6. setter

    Caporegime

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 28,160

    Location: armoy, n. ireland

    Great ram the reaper hpc kits, had 4gb of both the pc 6400 and the 8500, stuck with reapers for my i7 rig. Rock solid kits that never gave me any issues.
     
  7. matkeys

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Apr 2010

    Posts: 449

    Location: sevenoaks kent

    cool thanks, i "thought" they were good ram, from what i know, which is little compared to you lot here but i thought i would ask before buying them. and being ocz i kinda knew it would be good ram

    just a shame i gotta wait a week now!!

    what do you think there worth s/h?
     
    Last edited: 12 May 2010
  8. setter

    Caporegime

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 28,160

    Location: armoy, n. ireland

    Hard to say now as ddr2 prices have shot up signifigantly since i sold mine.
     
  9. matkeys

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Apr 2010

    Posts: 449

    Location: sevenoaks kent

    always the way! well ive got £60 down on it, might go a bit more ill see what happens i suppose