1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Zalman VF900-Cu Silent

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by iMacMart, 11 Jul 2006.

  1. iMacMart

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Jun 2006

    Posts: 11,554

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Hi all,

    Would adding the above cooler enable me to push my ATI 850XT PE to 590/620 maybe without a crash?

    Can't get it at that at the mo!!

    Thanks,
     
  2. benjo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 12,779

    Location: London

    When i put a VF-900 on my X800XT-PE, i managed to squeeze about 20mhz more on the core and memory.
     
  3. iMacMart

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Jun 2006

    Posts: 11,554

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Great thanks,


    I'll obviously keep the old van and be as careful as possible so I can put it back on when I come to sell it for an upgrade!

    thanks Benjo ;)
     
  4. Rick_Barnes

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 May 2006

    Posts: 449

    Location: London

    wont help if your limited by voltages, but will let you cool loads without loads of noise!!
     
  5. iMacMart

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Jun 2006

    Posts: 11,554

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Can I get round the volt limit?
     
  6. Rick_Barnes

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 May 2006

    Posts: 449

    Location: London

    there are volt mods avaliable , try the VR forums, ill go look for you now, did you get the card off ebay?
     
  7. iMacMart

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Jun 2006

    Posts: 11,554

    Location: Hertfordshire

    No mate OcUK!!


    Thanks for your help on this BTW
     
  8. Rick_Barnes

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 May 2006

    Posts: 449

    Location: London

    i sold mine on ebay and found it wasnt like a gradual crash when i increased the core speed. i could get it within 1mhz of crashing no probs, but as soon as i exceeded the threshold it would crash that moment in windows....


    is yours 2d stable when overclocked and only crashes under load, or do you hit a sudden wall?
     
  9. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,544

    Location: Midlands

    im at a wall at 630mhz on the core. if i overclock core higher it freezes in ati tool for about 1 min then resumes at stock speeds. throttles i guess. more to be a voltage problem for me rather than cooling.

    wonder if its safe to do the vmod or do i risk killing the card for little performance increase?
     
  10. iMacMart

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Jun 2006

    Posts: 11,554

    Location: Hertfordshire

    I can over clock, load say COD2 then after a min or 2 it crashes!
     
  11. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,544

    Location: Midlands

    your gfx card testing should be done using ATITOOL nothing else. thats where your going wrong.
     
  12. iMacMart

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Jun 2006

    Posts: 11,554

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Hmmm didn't really get on with that tbh :(


    Suppose I can have another bash though, Im using CCC 6.6 atm!

    EDIT: Can I use ATITOOLS along side CCC??
     
    Last edited: 11 Jul 2006
  13. sunlitsix

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2004

    Posts: 11,028

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    nice sig! :p

    yeah Ati Tool can be used along side the CCC

    i use 3d mark 05 for stability testing aswell as ati tool
     
  14. iMacMart

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Jun 2006

    Posts: 11,554

    Location: Hertfordshire

    LMAO

    hello "again" & thanks "again" cool will have a look now

    I think I will purchase the Zalman though as the stock cooler sounds like a hover craft.............. and at night I would like to be able to leave my comp on downloading at times without thinking theres a fighter jet aslseep in the next room :rolleyes:

    edit: got to 573mhz as stable - testing mem now

    OK 573 and 600 is that ok for my 850XT PE?
     
    Last edited: 11 Jul 2006
  15. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,544

    Location: Midlands

    guess it will have to do.
     
  16. sunlitsix

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2004

    Posts: 11,028

    Location: Stoke on Trent


    no probs :)

    whats the stock speeds for the X850XT?