1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Budget Upgrade. Most appropriate processor for my new graphics card?

Discussion in 'New to PC gaming & upgrade advice' started by ClockMuncher, 12 Jan 2020.

  1. ClockMuncher

    Associate

    Joined: 16 Oct 2019

    Posts: 3

    I'm looking to upgrade on the cheap, spending up to about £100 per component, from my obsolete computer to a slightly more relevant one.

    I would like to be able to use modern game-development platforms such as Unity, Photoshop, 3D editing tools like Blender, video editing software. I don't need to be able to do any of this on a professional level, only for entry-level / education and making low res videos. Trying to do this kind of stuff is currently possible but slows my machine down allot, especially if I try and do multiple things at once. I also like gaming, but do not currently desire to play anything that was made in the last several years.

    I know there are many reasons for a computer to be slow but I feel its time to upgrade it anyway.

    I'm mostly looking for suggestions on SSD's, and a processor that will help me to use the full potential of my new graphics card. I'm nearly maxed out on my current hard drive. I had to delete my pron. The size of the new SSD would depend on weather I'd use it just for the operating system and perhaps a few select programs, or for all large programs and games.

    Any other advice welcome. Thanks in advance.

    Current PC
    8GB
    AMD Athlon II X2 260 3.20GH
    1TB HDD
    GTX 970 (already upgraded from AMD Radeon HD 6670)
    Windows 7
    Motherboard: ASUS M4A78LT-M LE

    Possible upgrade
    Keep ram the same
    0.5TB-1TB SSD
    Ryzan 3 3200G?
    Ubuntu (+ windows reformatted for a clean slate)
     
  2. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 May 2012

    Posts: 12,325

    don't bother with naming a budget for each specific part.
    what is the total budget and what do you need?
     
  3. ClockMuncher

    Associate

    Joined: 16 Oct 2019

    Posts: 3

    £200 for processor and new hard drive
     
  4. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 May 2012

    Posts: 12,325

    no chance.
    if you want to change the cpu - you'll have to change the mobo and the ram as well
    and seeing as you already have a decent budget gpu - getting a 3200g is a waste of money as you're not going to use the integrated gpu

    what i'd get would be:
    Ryzen 1600 AF part number: YD1600BBAFBOX USD 110 inc shipping from USA
    and
    My basket at Overclockers UK:
    Total: £173.47 (includes shipping: £10.50)
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    would be around £250 which i know is overbudget, but getting the 6c12t cpu is much more worth it than a 4c4t cpu
     
  5. ClockMuncher

    Associate

    Joined: 16 Oct 2019

    Posts: 3


    Thanks for the advice. I hadn't put much thought into the motherboard but I understand now of its importance.

    Regarding RAM, I was struggling to find product information on my computer, but I've now gone and dag through my emails and found that what I'm currently using is:
    Ballistix Sport BLS2KIT4G3D1609DS1S00 8GB Kit (4GBx2) (DDR3, 1600 MT/s, PC3-12800, DIMM, 240-Pin)

    By the looks of it, the upgrade would double the RAM speed. Would that make a significant difference? And/or is it an issue of compatibility? (And/or making the most out of my other upgrades?)

    Edit: I just stumbled across this "bundle" which, unless I am mistaken? just so happens to be the same processor and motherboard you recommended.

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NEW-Moth...176622&hash=item445073c487:g:L~0AAOSwf9teEGiT
     
    Last edited: 13 Jan 2020
  6. sideways14a

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Aug 2017

    Posts: 2,054

    For CPU upgrade...
    Gonna need a much higher budget for new kit, SH might just get some decent stuff.

    An ssd prob the best thing to get that will make a difference and you dont need a mega fast expensive one.
    I wouldnt wast money on the memory or owt else as to be honest the cpu is so slow its not worth it.
     
  7. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 May 2012

    Posts: 12,325

    you're unfortunately mistaken
    the reason why you have to upgrade the whole system is because yours is woefully obsolete
    your CPU/mobo is based on AM3 platform
    whereas the new AMD processors are based on the AM4 platform - hence incompatible - ie if you get a new CPU you HAVE TO get a new mobo as well
    same with the ram - your current ram is ddr3...the ram in the latest platforms use ddr4 - physically incompatible - so again, you have to get new ram

    it's not the same

    1600 is not the same as the 1600 AF (or else i would've just said 1600, and wouldn't have said that you needed to get it from the USA, nor listed the exact part number)
    same with the mobo the b450 pro4 is much much better than the trash in that listing (A320M-HDV)
    there is a method to the madness ;)