1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i7 7700k Pre-Binned Processor No 5GHz

Discussion in 'Ask 8 Pack' started by xiamwebb, 14 Jun 2017.

  1. xiamwebb

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Jun 2017

    Posts: 1

    Got a pre-binned Processor5 ghz chip from overclockersuk, can get a stable 4.8ghz MAX at 1.4v, cant get a stable 5ghz, tried 1.3 - 1.45v, the higher the voltage the more 'stable' it gets, but still bluescreens and crashes when stress testing, using cinebench,passmark,prime95, intel extreme, etc to run these tests btw. have spoken to overclockers on the phone and they keep recommending 1.375v but this is actually worse than when I'm tinkering.

    I've got a corsair h115i watercooler with x2 Noctua NF-A14 140mm industrialPPC-3000PWM Cooler fans, I've re-applied thermal grizzly paste multiple times, I'm seriously getting frustrated now spending £150 extra for a not guaranteed 5ghz chip.

    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/inte...a1151-pre-binned-processor-oem-cp-003-oe.html


    Recommended settings from product page via overclockers
    "
    Settings for 5.0GHz:
    - Vcore 1.32-1.39v load typically 1.35v needed at most.
    - VCCSA 1.05 for 3200mhz mems Upto 1.25 for DDR4000mhz +
    - VCCIO 1.0 for 3200mhz mems. upto 1.25 For DDR4000mhz +
    "
     
  2. Aa83

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Dec 2013

    Posts: 294

    Location: Newbury, UK

  3. Ste

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,780

    What temperatures are you running and what are you using to test stability?
     
  4. snips86x

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Nov 2012

    Posts: 17,592

    Location: Close to Swindon, but not Swindon

    What motherboard? Could be that or another settings which is throwing it out! What's your LLC running at?
     
  5. Hotwired

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Aug 2009

    Posts: 7,768

    Non AVX Prime 95 is what these chips are tested with (among other things) and it says so on the product page.

    If anything you are testing it with uses AVX code then that will probably be the reason it is failing.

    AVX code is more demanding and the chips are not sold as AVX stable overclocked.
     
  6. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 27,497

    Location: Rutland

    I don't understand why people are buying mid-tiered binned CPUs. They overclock about as well as a non-binned CPU but you're absolutely guaranteed to not get a golden CPU as they've been tested and if they overclocked amazingly they'd be in a higher bin.
     
  7. Reality|Bites

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Apr 2006

    Posts: 6,155

    Yeah i'm in the same boat really, It's stable with everything running at 5Ghz but when I load up the Witcher 3 it just get too hot and either the game freezes or I get a blue screen.
    I've tried up to 1.39v to make it stable but with more voltage you get more heat so...
    I even installed a custom water loop last week but that doesn't help.
     
  8. Reality|Bites

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Apr 2006

    Posts: 6,155

    So other than increasing cpu voltage what could I adjust to get a stable 5Ghz in everything?
     
  9. Hagar

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Mar 2010

    Posts: 9,443

    Location: 5 degrees starboard

    Room temperature!
     
  10. Nickolp1974

    Soldato

    Joined: 15 May 2012

    Posts: 5,393

    Location: Louth, lincs

    Whats your bsod code, 101, 124, 50???? Also what temps for cinebench r15 at stock settings
     
  11. 8 Pack

    OcUK Staff

    Joined: 20 Feb 2012

    Posts: 10,043

    Location: John Smiths Stadium

    Need more details to fully help. The 5g cpu 7700k is binned 5.1ghz for R15 so something else is off here